After the initial registration of the vehicle, you are required to renew your license plate every year by your birthday. Four to Six weeks before your birth month your yearly Registration Renewal Notice will be mailed to you.
Did You Know…
- You do not have to wait for your Registration Renewal Card to come before you can renew. You are allowed to renew your license plate up to three months in advance of your birth month.
- You also have two options when renewing your license plate. You can renew for one year at a time or you can renew for two years allowing you to renew your license plate every other year.
Ways to Renew…
- You may renew your license plate registration in person at your Tax Collector’s Office or by mailing the registration card to the Tax Collector with your check or money order.
- You may also renew over the internet by clicking here. Additional fees will be added for mail or internet renewals.
Please note: The Columbia County Tax Collector’s Office is separate and completely independent of the Division of Motor Vehicles Office. Any problems or questions should be directed to 850-617-2000.
TAG REGISTRATION AND RENEWAL
Florida uses a metal license plate with the alpha numeric system, meaning there are combinations of letters and numbers used for identification. The renewal sticker denoting the owner’s birth month and expiration date is placed in the upper right hand corner of the license plate. The license plate is displayed on the rear of the vehicle with the exception of certain commercial vehicles. The plate is issued to the owner for ten years. The owner will receive a new plate (with new numbers and letters) during the eleventh year.
Annual Registration fees are defined by Florida Statute and subject to change by Legislative act. Rates are based on vehicle weight and range from a base fee of $27.10 to $46.10 for standard cars and trucks. Commercial and for hire vehicle rates vary according to several factors. Please contact the Tax Collectors office for exact rate amounts and questions concerning Military personnel.
INITIAL REGISTRATION FEE
If you purchase a new or used vehicle and do not have a current license plate to transfer to this vehicle; you will be assessed a $225 Initial Registration Fee. This fee applies to private automobiles, motor homes and trucks less than 5,000 pounds. Please download the form here HSMV 82002.